Identity Provider Versioning

ūüďė

Note:

This feature is currently in Limited-Availability (LA) and can be enabled in your contract by contacting Akamai Support.

Every time you deploy or redeploy an identity provider, a new version is created. After it is successfully deployed, you can navigate to the deployment history to view the history of all the configurations. This can help you track which configurations are deployed, who deployed them, when it was deployed, and see any comments you provided while deploying the version.

In addition, you can compare configuration between two versions.

The versioning of identity provider configurations is based on this state diagram:

IDP_versioning

Everytime you create an identity provider, edit any configuration parameters, save it and do not deploy it to production, it stays in the Draft status. After you’re finished configuring the identity provider, you can enter comments for this version in the deployment description. Then, if you deploy the identity provider to production for the first time, it goes to the Deployed status. It gets a version number under Version in the History with deployment comments.

IdP versioning is very similar to Application versioning with regard to comparing IdP configuration versions. However, there is no copy to draft feature and therefore we don’t support configuration rollback to older versions like we have for Application versioning.

Compare configurations of two versions

You can do a side-by-side comparison of the configurations of any two versions of an identity provider. It shows the changes you have made in the configurations, which sections have changes, and who (admin’s email is shown) has made the changes.

  1. Log in to the Enterprise Center.
  2. In the Enterprise Center navigation menu, select Application Access > Identity & Users > Identity Providers.
  3. Go to the identity provider and click the version hyperlink in the Deployment column on the IdP list page. This takes you to the History tab for the selected identity provider.
  4. On the History page, click the Compare version icon in the row you want to compare. By default that version is compared against the deployed version or draft version whichever is the latest.

It shows the total number of differences between the two versions. You can also select any other versions from the two dropdowns, click Compare, to compare them. If you click on the section, you can see the details of what was changed and who made the changes. You can view only the changes between the two versions by checking Only changes or deselect Only changes to see the entire two versions. The differences are highlighted between the two versions.