The quick-delete action is disabled by default for security reasons, as it allows complete, recursive
removal of non-empty directory structures.

This protection is in place to guard against inadvertent deletions of potentially unknown content. You enable this functionality on a per storage group basis during storage group creation or by editing an existing group.

When you enable support for quick-delete, it becomes accessible in the Usage API and CMShell.

  • The actual deletion may take some time. The actual deletion occurs in the background of NetStorage. If a large number of files are targeted, the deletions may take a significant amount of time to complete.

  • Objects targeted for quick-delete may still be accessible. Taking the previous point into consideration, a targeted file or directory will exist until the deletion of that object can fully complete. Until the actual delete, it will still be accessible, and served if requested.

  • Newly uploaded content will not be deleted. If you target a file with a quick-delete that hasn‚Äôt been deleted yet, and you upload a new version of the file that overwrites it, this new version will not be deleted.

  • There is no alert that a quick-delete has completed. You can use the stat action or list action to view directories and check status.

  • ‚Äúundeletion‚ÄĚ is not supported. When performing a quick-delete, targeted content cannot be recovered. Once issued, content will be permanently removed.

  • The difference between the ‚Äúquick-delete‚ÄĚ and ‚Äúdelete‚ÄĚ actions. While the actual delete performed by a quick-delete may not be quick, this action allows you to target a complete directory, and recursively delete all of its contents‚ÄĒboth files and sub-directories‚ÄĒwith a single instance of this action. The standard delete action allows you to target a single, specific object to be deleted. And, in the case of a directory, it must be empty.