Delete an access key or an access key version

There may be times when you wish to delete an access key or an access key version that is no longer required.

An access key version can only be deleted if it is not being used in any active or activating property.

An access key can only be deleted if it has no active versions.

Delete an access key version

How to:

  1. In Cloud Access Manager, find and click the correct access key to see more details.

  2. In the Access key versions table that appears, click the trash icon to the right of the version you wish to delete.

  3. When prompted to confirm deletion, click OK.

This begins the deletion process, which will take at least five minutes. This is because the Property Manager API needs to check to make sure that the access key version is not being used in any active or activating property. There is a five minute lookup lag to ensure the data is current and reliable. While deletion is in progress, you cannot select the key version in Origin Characteristics.

Once this time period has elapsed, one of three things will happen:

  • If the version is used in any active or activating property, the version is reactivated and will be selectable once again in Origin Characteristics. A message appears advising that the access key version cannot be deleted because it is in use.

📘

If the key version is In use on a property, edit the property Origin Characteristics so that the access key version that you want to delete is no longer used.

  • If the version is not used in any active or activating property, it is deleted and no longer appears in the list of access key versions. A message appears advising that the access key version was successfully deleted.

  • If issues are encountered (for example, an external service is not responding) deletion is postponed for five minutes. A message appears advising that the server has encountered a problem and will need to check again to determine whether the version is used in any active or activating property.

📘

Deletion can be postponed a maximum of two times. If the problem persists, the version is reactivated and will once again be selectable in Origin Characteristics. A message appears advising that the version cannot be deleted at this time.

Delete an access key

How to:

  1. When there are no versions of the access key, the Delete access key button is enabled. If the Delete access key button is disabled, delete the key's versions.

    Delete access key location - top right
  1. Click Delete access key and then Ok to permanently delete the access key.
    A message appears advising that the access key was successfully deleted.